August and September Determined Dragons!

Submitted by diana.guinn on Tue, 10/05/2010 - 13:59

At Sage Creek Elementary, classes are taught weekly the following Character Education skills: how to show appreciation, accept responsibility, and make good choices. These students have been chosen to be the Determined Dragons for the months of August and September because they have made our school a better place by using their Character Education skills. They are: Tony Agustin, Kaylee Allen, Jaden Anderson, Devin Ashcraft, Brock Ashman, Krista Bair, Autumn Barker, Spencer Bartholomew, Nathan Bingham, Madison Bingham, Nicholas Bradley, Sadie Brailsford, Dallin Brandt, Ty Carter, Joshua cox, Kaiah cox, Spencer Curtis, Lydia Davies, Sam Daybell, Will Daybell, Camila De jesus, Shayna Diede, Abbie Dunkley, Calli Egbert, Michael Eifert, Payton Esplin, Emily Evans, Joseph Fanal, Fischer Forbush, Gavin Forbush, Mario Gallegos, Carter Gandolph, Rebecca Gee, Emma Gibb, Cameron Green, Amanda Guernsey, Allison Hawks, Derek Heiner, Chloe Heiner, Gracie, hickman, Spencer Hauck, Elizabeth Kurban, Easton Lancaster, Spencer McConnell, Dakota Meyer, Kim Monsalvo, Mason Morgan, Ashley Murdoch, Brianna Nelson, Anarely Oliva, Brayan Oliva, Chandler Packer, Cameron Peterson, Anna Pickering, Kilee Powers, Elizabeth Priego, Hannah Ream, Erik Reynoso, Bryan Rojas, Connor Sanders, Stephanie Santoyo, Gavin Seamons, Gavin Shirley, Chloe Sleight, Kole Sleight, Kayla Squire, Zoe Stone, Kaiden Tanner, Dylan Thomas, Sadie Trujillo, Sereena Valencia, Lauren Walker, Jonathan Wasden, Hayden White, Chloe Wilcox, Joely Wilson, Kason Winward, Abigail Zonts, Zack Zonts. Way to go Determined Dragons!!!

Internet Safety

Submitted by diana.guinn on Tue, 10/05/2010 - 13:52

Sage Creek Elementary PTA is sponsoring Green Ribbon (Safety) Week this week. Monday, Ms. Jennifer Decker from presented two assemblies on internet safety. Students were taught to always have an adult present with them while using the internet, not to open email from someone they don't know, never meet someone in person that they've just met on the internet, never give out personal information on the computer without parent/guardian permission, and how to protect themselves from cyber-bullying. Students were encouraged to go home and discuss these same issues and guidelines with their parents. For more information about internet safety guidelines parents can go to _/

Utah Symphony

Submitted by diana.guinn on Tue, 09/28/2010 - 11:22

Sage Creek's fourth graders, along with others from Nebo School District, were privileged to attend a performance by the Utah Symphony on Tuesday September 14th at Maple Mountain High School. Before the concert, students enjoyed learning about the instruments that play in a symphony. They also studied the musical pieces that were presented, and learned about the lives of the composers of each musical piece. The theme this year was Magic in Music and it was an incredible experience. The students dressed in their best clothes and were great listeners.

Fourth Grade Forest Field Trip

Submitted by diana.guinn on Tue, 09/28/2010 - 11:20

The forest environment was appreciated and enjoyed by the 4th graders from Sage Creek Elementary on Tuesday, September 21. With the help of Sarah Flinders and others from the National Forest Service, students were able to hike the Discovery trail, put on "waders" and catch invertebrates and fishes, go on a nature scavenger hunt, and learn how fires can help a forest. Diamond Fork Campground in the Wasatch Uinta National Forest was the setting for this fantastic day of learning which was directly related to the Utah State fourth grade science core curriculum.

2010-11 Student Council

Submitted by diana.guinn on Tue, 09/28/2010 - 11:15

Sage Creek Elementary School held it’s annual student council elections during the past week. Candidates were nominated by their peers were required to have a teacher recommendation, do service hours, write an essay and prepare a speech, in addition to regular campaigning. This year Sage Creek’s student council members are. Megan McConnell, Savannah Walker, Andrew Slack, Lindsey Tuft, MaKell Hyatt, Matt Dwiggins, Mary Petruka, Jacob Blomquist, Rachel Miner, Wesley White, Jon Krutsch, and Kaylie Ross. Jacob Blomquist was chosen as President with MaKell Hyatt as Vice President, Wesley White as Secretary, and Lindsey Tuft as Activities Chairman. Congratulations students!!